Hattiesburg Area Historical Society...preserving local history and heritage since 1970
HAHS logo

About us


The Hattiesburg Area Historical Society (HAHS) is a non-profit, all-volunteer organization that was created in 1970 to fill a void in the preservation of local history and heritage. The society was incorporated in 1971 as the first historical society in the area and the second formed in the state of Mississippi.


Map- Forrest County is located in southeast Mississippi

  • To bring together people interested in regional history;
  • To promote better understanding of our American heritage and democratic way of life;
  • To discover, collect, and preserve any material which can help establish or illustrate the history of Hattiesburg, Forrest County, and the surrounding area;
  • To disseminate and arouse interest in historical information;
  • To cooperate with other state historical societies and the Mississippi Department of Archives and History to make HAHS materials available to the public.

The Museum

The museum collection consists of an extensive library in addition to artifacts that include garments, goods, tools, furnishings and general items related to churches, schools, industry, small business, historic buildings & homes, organizations and individuals.

Material donations related to the area's history and development are always welcome.

HAHS logo
The HAHS logo


Russell Archer, President
Lynn Helwig, First Vice-President
Ursula Jones, Second Vice-President
Hattie Phalen, Recording Secretary
Paula Harvey, Corresponding Secretary
Barbara Curry, Treasurer
Clai Meador, Assistant Treasurer

Board Members

Phyllis Bailey
Jeanne Herring
Lee Terrio

Former Officers & Board Members

Constitution and By-laws